Any man with a microphone

Standard

Any man with a microphone can tell you what he loves the most

-Jack White, “Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground”

We each have our own voice. Many educators share their voice through blogging. This blog is a place for new voices. My voice begins with a confession.

I wanted to be a teacher from a young age. Then I didn’t. Now I am a teacher.

I took an Intro to Education Course my sophomore year of college. It was taught by a retired “master teacher.” I hated it and decided I didn’t want to be a teacher. I stopped doing the work because I thought I could withdraw and get a “W,” but it turns out I missed the cut-off date to withdraw by a couple days. I had a “D” and was scrambling to catch up and salvage what I could of my grade. At the end of the term I went to the teacher, one point away from a “C” and asked if there was anything else I could do.** Her response was “No. Maybe you’re not cut out for college.” I might be paraphrasing the first sentence, but I’m not paraphrasing the second sentence. I will never forget those words. She had no idea who I was as a person or as a learner.

I share this story for 3 reasons:

  1. That experience has shaped who I am as a teacher. I want to know who my students are and care enough about them to believe that they can learn and do great things.
  2. I’m not a fan of most education classes and for a long time could not stand “professional development.”
  3. As an educational blogger, I want to talk about education, but I don’t want to talk about education.

I want to talk about education, but I’m jaded and often would prefer to talk about sports, music, movies, video games, pop culture, etc. So let’s do both and then let’s see where this takes us.

Until next time, just remember: “Any man with a microphone can tell you what he loves the most.”

This is my microphone. I look forward to telling you what I love (and don’t love) the most. What’s your microphone?

*Second confession/brag – I had straight A’s my freshman year. A low grade meant something.
**Yeah, I know, typical student.

Leave a Reply

